FSTA Faculty Advisory Board 

FSTA has been providing a valuable service for researchers for over 50 years. However, the last 10 years have seen radical changes, which have made it harder to locate scientific information that is both relevant and reliable. Relevance has become an issue because general search tools like Google Scholar produce an overwhelming number of irrelevant results. Whilst reliability is a growing problem caused by the proliferation of predatory journals and fake news.

The advisory board provides advice on:

  • The coverage in FSTA (which becomes more challenging as research becomes more interdisciplinary)
  • The content in FSTA (including which formats and titles to include)
  • How to develop best practice in literature searching and literature reviews.

Founder members of the board include:


  • Professor V. M. (Bala) Balasubramaniam, Professor, Food Engineering, Ohio State University, USA
  • Professor Marcelo Cristianini, Professor, Faculty of Food Engineering, State University of Campinas, Brazil
  • Professor Richard Hartel, Department of Food Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Professor Yangchao Luo, Associate Professor, University of Connecticut, USA
  • Professor Alejandro Marangoni, Professor and Canada Research Chair, Food, Health and Aging, University of Guelph, Canada
  • Professor Matt Moore, Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
  • Professor Cristina M. Rosell, Head of Department of Food and Human Nutritional Sciences. University of Manitoba, Canada; Adjunct Professor of the Institute of Agrochemistry and Food Technology (IATA-CSIC); Associate Professor of the University of Valencia (UV) Spain
  • Dr Kantha Shelke,  PhD, CFS, Principal, Corvus Blue LLC / Senior Lecturer, Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • Professor Jorge Welti-Chanes, Decano Académico Asociado, Escuela de Ciencias e Ingeniería, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Mexico
  • Professor Youling L. Xiong, University Research Professor, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Professor Qixin Zhong, Department of Food Science, University of Tennessee ,USA


  • Professor Dong Sun Lee, Professor Emeritus, Kyungnam University, South Korea
  • Professor Min-Hsiung Pan, Director, Institute of Food Science & Technology, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Professor Ki Hwan Park, Professor at Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • Professor Nagendra Prasad Shah, Professor of Food Science and Technology, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Professor Liu Shao Quan, Associate Professor, Food Science and Technology Programme, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Professor Gow-Chin Yen, Chair Professor, Department of Food Science and Biotechnology, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan


  • Professor Vural Gökmen, Professor, Food Engineering Department, Hacettepe University, Turkey
  • Professor Riëtte (HL) de Kock, Professor in the Department of Consumer and Food Sciences, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Professor Cristina Nerin, Professor of Analytical Chemistry, Directora del grupo GUIA, Instituto de Investigacion en Ingenieria de Arago, University of Zaragoza, Spain
  • Professor Maria Manuela Estevez Pintado, Associate Professor, Director of CBQF – State Associate Laboratory and Associate Director of the College of Biotechnology, Portuguese Catholic University, Portugal
  • Professor Seyed Hadi Razavi, Head of Department of Food Science & Engineering, University of Tehran, Iran
  • Dr Anwesha Sarkar, Associate Professor of Food Colloids, School of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Leeds, UK
  • Dr Elke Scholten, Associate Professor, Physics and Physical Chemistry of Foods , Wageningen University, Netherlands
  • Professor Stefano SforzaFull Professor, Department of Food and Drug, University of Parma, Italy
  • Professor Gunnar Sigge, Associate Professor & Department Chair, Food Science, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Professor Dharini Sivakumar, SARChI Research Chair in Phytochemical Food Network to improve the nutritional quality for consumers, Department of Crop Sciences, Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa
  • Professor Da-Wen Sun, Full Professor of Food and Biosystems Engineering, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Professor Fidel Toldrá, Research Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Biochemistry, Innovation and Technology of Meat and Meat Products, Instituto de Agroquímica y Tecnología de Alimentos (CSIC), Spain
  • Professor Gilles Trystram, Director General, AgroParisTech, France


  • Professor Daming Fan, Vice Dean, Food Science and Engineering School, Jiangnan University, China
  • Dr Xiaoxi Li, Professor of Food Science and Technology, Deputy Dean, School of Food Science and Engineering, South China University of Technology, China
  • Dr Yuan Liu, Professor, Director of Department of Food Science &Technology, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
  • Professor Yunbo Luo, The College of Food Science and Nutritional Engineering, China Agricultural University, China
  • Professor Pingfan Rao, Director, CAS.SIBS-Zhejiang Gongshang University Joint Center for Food and Nutrition Research, Zhejiang Gongshang University, China
  • Professor Qingjie Sun, Professor, Qingdao Agricultural University, China
  • Professor Chuanlai Xu, FRSC, International Joint Research Laboratory for Biointerface and Biodetection, State Key Lab of Food Science & Technology, and School of Food Science and Technology, Jiangnan University, China

We are undertaking further recruitment for the regions South America, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East and Africa. If you are interested and would like to be considered, please contact Katy Askew.

Want to know more about IFIS?

Discover our history and purpose

Learn about why IFIS was founded back in 1968, our mission, leadership team and trustees, and the partners with whom we work to reach food communities worldwide.

Learn more